Confirmation: a step in maturity

DSC_0010

 

I was born in January of 1995. My parents baptized me in the Catholic Church in May of 1995. They picked two of the best people I know for my Godparents, my aunt Joyce and my uncle Jim. Mom and Dad picked some of the greatest people to help me on my journey through my faith life, which they are still doing.
A few years later, in December 1998, my parents gave me my little brother Jarred. They also baptized him in the Catholic Church.
I confirmed my faith in the Catholic Church in September 2012. During confirmation I was able to pick my own sponsor to continue to guide me on my journey through the faith. I picked Angie, a wonderful lady I babysit for, who is raising six kids and still makes time for her faith, for this task. Anyone who knows me knows just how incredibly important Angie and her family are to me. And all of them are still helping me grow in my faith.
Saturday, Jarred decided to confirm my parents’ decision and he was confirmed in the Catholic Church. Jarred now got his turn to pick a sponsor.
I was honored, blessed, and taken aback that Jarred picked me as his sponsor. When I think about how important Angie is to me, my heart is incredibly full that Jarred picked me.
Picking a sponsor is important because you are trusting this person to help you to question and learn more about the Catholic Church as you grow older. The Catholic Church is big and complex, yet extremely simple, but it can be confusing. That’s why picking a sponsor is so important. You are going to need those people later in life to help you if you ever doubt your faith. (And it’s bound to happen at least once…)
Confirmation is described as the sacrament of maturity and coming of age. This Saturday I watched my brother take a big step in his life and I watched Jarred suddenly become about 10 years older in my eyes. Confirmation is important because now you are looked at as an adult, at least in the eyes of the Church. This signals the time to grow up.
Jarred’s been in my life for 17 years, but I have always looked at him and thought of him as that cute, little, fat-cheeked 3-year-old, but this weekend, he was suddenly a young adult.
Jarred has been through a lot in his 17 years on this earth, and anyone who spends much time with me will learn just how incredibly proud I am of this kid. He’s made amazing progress and success stories in his life, but Saturday, it took all I had to not start bawling in that church. (I did happen to let one little tear fall down my face, but how could you not when you’re helping someone receive the Holy Spirit.)
My confirmation day was one of the most important days in my life and I will never forget that experience, but the more important day was Saturday, when I was able to help Jarred receive the same Grace (God’s life…living within us!) I did.
I want to give a final shout out to all 18 confirmation students at Sts. Peter and Paul’s Catholic Church. I’ve known most of you for your entire lives and I am so proud of all of you. You all made a big step. You confirmed that you want to remain in the Catholic Church. Never forget to keep growing, loving, and serving God and others.
I specifically want to congratulate Amanda, Haleigh and my cousin Zachary, you’ve all made a huge difference in my life, whether you believe it or not, and I couldn’t be prouder of you guys for making this decision as well.
But finally, to Jarred, I love you and I thank you for this amazing opportunity to be your sponsor and to be your big sister. I promise to always help you in your continued journey through the Catholic faith.

Leave a Reply

